MCC Confirms Legality of Akash Deep's Delivery in Test Match Against England
Controversy Surrounds Joe Root's Dismissal
In the fourth innings of the second Test between India and England, a significant debate emerged regarding Akash Deep's delivery that led to Joe Root's wicket on day four. Fans and commentators raised concerns, suggesting it should have been ruled a no-ball. However, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has firmly stated that the delivery was entirely legal.
The MCC, which oversees cricket laws, clarified that Akash's delivery complied with the rules. They released an official statement addressing the situation, stating,
“On Day four of India’s Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no ball. While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law.”
The statement further elaborated,
“For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot’s position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball.”
Details of the Dismissal
On the fourth day of the Test match, Akash Deep, a right-arm seamer, bowled from wide of the crease, delivering the ball over the wicket. The delivery initially angled in before sharply seaming away, resulting in the dismissal of Joe Root's off-stump. However, replays ignited discussions, as part of his back foot seemed to overlap the return crease, which consists of two white lines running parallel to the pitch near the stumps.
Despite the visual evidence, the third umpire deemed the delivery legal. Commentators emphasized during the broadcast that the critical factor is the position of the bowler's foot at the moment of initial contact with the ground. In Akash Deep's case, his heel remained within the return crease at that time, confirming the legality of the delivery.
Remarkably, Akash Deep concluded the Test with a total of 10 wickets, becoming only the second Indian bowler after Chetan Sharma to achieve this feat in England.