Mumbai Indians' Skipper Shuffle

5 Indian Players Who Have Led the Franchise in IPL History

Sachin Tendulkar:

Tendulkar captained Mumbai Indians from IPL 2008 to 2011, winning 30 out of 51 matches under his leadership. He continued his association with MI after retirement.

Harbhajan Singh:

Harbhajan Singh was the first captain of Mumbai Indians, leading the team in Tendulkar's absence during IPL 2008. He later became the full-time captain for one season in IPL 2012.

Rohit Sharma:

Sharma succeeded Harbhajan as captain during IPL and held the position until IPL 2023. Under his leadership, MI won five IPL titles. He also assumed leadership roles in international cricket.

Rohit Sharma (Impact Player)

Sharma was replaced as captain by Suryakumar Yadav in a match during IPL 2023, but he was named the Impact Player and contributed to MI's victory.

Suryakumar Yadav:

Suryakumar Yadav briefly captained Mumbai Indians in IPL 2023, leading the team to victory against Sunrisers Hyderabad. He also led Team India in T20Is during the same year.

Shaun Pollock (Interim):

Pollock served as the interim captain of Mumbai Indians during IPL 2008 in the absence of Tendulkar and Harbhajan.

Hardik Pandya:

Pandya returned to Mumbai Indians before IPL 2024 and took over the captaincy from Sharma. However, MI struggled under his leadership in the ongoing season.

View Next Story