From Ganguly to Morgan: 8 Captains Who Have Led KKR Through IPL Seasons

Sourav Ganguly:

Ganguly was KKR's inaugural captain in 2008 and also led them in 2010. He won 13 out of 27 matches.

Brendon McCullum:

McCullum took over in 2009 after Ganguly's sacking, securing only 3 wins in 13 games.

Gautam Gambhir:

Gambhir served as KKR's longest-serving captain from 2011 to 2017, winning 69 out of 122 matches. He led KKR to IPL titles in 2012 and 2014.

Jacques Kallis:

Kallis briefly led KKR in two matches during the 2011 Champions League in Gambhir's absence, winning one and losing one.

Dinesh Karthik:

Karthik took over from Gambhir in 2018 until midway through the 2020 season, winning 19 out of 37 matches.

Eoin Morgan:

Morgan assumed leadership mid-way through the 2020 season, leading KKR to the final in 2021. He won 11 out of 24 matches.

Shreyas Iyer:

Iyer was named captain after the IPL mega auction and has led KKR in 16 matches with eight wins and eight losses.

Nitish Rana:

Rana captained KKR in 2023 IPL in Iyer's absence, winning six out of 14 matches.

View Next Story